Call for Entries! PGNiG Transatlantyk Festival 2016 announces Transatlantyk Film Music Competition!
Composition Contests
10:00 Łódzki Dom Kultury
Transatlantyk Film Music Competition is intended for composers who appreciate the opportunity to create music polished in every detail. PGNiG Transatlantyk Festival provides young artists with two short films, to which the composers create original soundtracks. Organizers leave the young artists an unlimited field of imagination. The choice of the instrumentation and the character of the music depends solely on the contestants. The submitted works - full, professionally prepared mock-ups are required - are then evaluated by an international committee of prominent experts. The audience meets only a selected elite group of 10 finalists.

Transatlantyk Film Music Competition gives young artists many opportunities. High monetary prizes (first prize is 20 thousand PLN), tough competition, and the presence of the jury composed of distinguished representatives of the world of music and film who assess the work of the finalists, give the competition international significance. In recent years, the international jury included: Marco Beltrami, Christopher Young, Richard Gladstein, Petr Zelenka, Jan AP Kaczmarek, Robert Townson, Mark Isham, et al. Competition’s laureates, such as Matthijs Kieboom, Nicholas Stroiński, Krzysztof A. Janczak, Garth Neustadter or Xiaotian Shi successfully developed their international careers. They all appreciate the positive influence of PGNiG Transatlantyk Festival. Along with the title of the Transatlantyk Young Composer 2016, the winner will receive:
  • Transatlantyk Young Composer Award – First Prize - 20 000 PLN

Winners of the second and third prize will receive:
  • Transatlantyk Young Composer Award – Second Prize - 10 000 PLN
  • Transatlantyk Young Composer Award – Third Prize - 5 000 PLN
  • May 18th 2016 – Competition Opening (Competition’s films ready for download)
  • June 12th 2016 – Composition submission deadline and registration fees deadline
  • June 15th 2016 – Announcement of the finalists
  • June 29th 2016 – The final (screening of the finalists’ films for the jury and the audience)
  • June 30th 2016 – Announcement of the competition winners and presentation of the awards during the Closing Gala

Download materials:

Application form
Rules of participation

Film 1

Film 2
The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore
reż. William Joyce, Brandon Oldenburg


UPDATE - June 15th 2016
This year, the Jury chaired by Jan A.P. Kaczmarek selected 10 finalists:
1. Akos Lustyik - Hungary
2. David Heymann - Germany
3. Ahmed Soroko - Canada
4. Marcin Kuczewski - Poland
5. Nancy Li - USA
6. Piotr Adamczyk - Poland
7. Oli Jan - United Kingdom
8. Jeffrey van Rossum - Netherlands
9. Kamil Hamulczyk - Poland
10. Levente Kovács - Austria

This site uses cookies. By leaving your browser's cookie settings at default, you agree to that. ZAMKNIJ